web video finally in the lounge room?

August 6, 2009 at 1:00 am 2 comments

They took the credit for your second symphony.
Rewritten by machine and new technology,
and now I understand the problems you can see.

Perhaps video is killing the TV star as well.

Now before I start, let me make it perfectly clear that I am not paid by or affiliated in anyway by any of the businesses mentioned in this blog.

Recently I had noticed that my children no longer watch TV. Sure, the TV plays, but most of the time they are multi-tasking with their laptops and cell phones and pay little attention to the big screen. Aware of this, I started to assess my own viewing habits. As it turned out, my wife and I, really enjoy only one particular ‘must see’ program on TV. It is available on free to air. Should I miss it, then I can get it on Hulu or download it from iTunes.

This got me thinking.

I pay $73 per month for “over 200 channels” of premium content. This is generally supplemented with about $20/month on videos because those 200+ channels hardly have any real content, a large percentage of them are music channels anyway!

Looking at my latest BlueRay player, I discovered a Netflix connection. It also had a Pandora interface. Hmmm. For an investment of $9/month from Netflix and plugging my BlueRay into my home LAN, coupled with my HD free to air broadcast, I could get better, more diverse, and more controlled entertainment than the swill fed to me by my content provider. Oh, and those music channels – replaced with Pandora – my playlists, not my service provider’s.

Net result? A savings of about $1000/per year, all the content that I want and the quality is really very good. The content selection exceeds that which I’d get from any additional premium channels. And, anything that I cannot stream, I can get on DVD within a day or so. I am much happier for no longer having to suffer through the over compressed, over-hyped, over-packaged and over-researched scheduled content that is offered to me ‘as a great value bundle’.  The only ads I see are those on local broadcast TV. Not only that, but my entire family can select content and put it onto our playlist from wherever there is a web connection. Not bad.

Little did I know I was already a statistic. As stated in the Pew Internet Project Home Broadband Adoption 2009,

overall, 22% of American adults say they have cut back on their cable or television services over the course of the past 12 months. That compares to just 9% who have cut back on their internet service. Those who have canceled or cut back on cable and TV services are more likely to have their online video viewing to their television screen. Among this economizing group of online video viewers, 32% have connected their computer to their TV screen to watch internet video.

If you believe TDG “Web-Only Video Programming Heading for the Home TV…Finally”, we seem to have reached a tipping point and that over the top video in the lounge room is not only quite possible, but actually starting to acquire momentum.

I seem to remember that when cable first appeared, it had the value proposition of being able to provide good signal quality and more channels. It had value and we paid. Now that we can get great content, at great quality for modest pricing, or free, why would you pay?

I think that the telcos and IPTV have a real shot at riding this curve… provide bandwidth, provide services in the form of IT applications, work with the local broadcasters and make it affordable. That’s the secret.

Tell me it isn’t so… I’m listening.

Oh, and my family? When we decide to watch a movie together, we’re engaged… Why? Because it is something we want to watch, not just something that happens to be on… more is not better – better is better. I now spend less time in front of the TV screen, but the time I’m there, it’s planned, attentive and enjoyable.

Entry filed under: Media. Tags: , , , .

who’s in control? lots of bits, not just bigs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. machoman  |  August 9, 2009 at 4:13 am

    thank you! I really liked this post!

    Reply
  • 2. teinby  |  August 10, 2009 at 6:54 am

    thank you! I really liked this post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Feeds

My Tweets

  • #OneDrive support disappointing - over 72hrs and no update. Losing confidence. Is there anybody out there? 2 years ago
  • Interested in Programmatic Trading for TV? lnkd.in/bBWjhfV 2 years ago
  • On CBS this morning, COO of Facebook makes claim that computer science started in the 80's. Revisionist history or am I just getting old? 3 years ago
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

